Swatch Stick Project *Pic Heavy

Hello everyone 😀

Today I have something really exciting to show you… Well it was really exciting for me hehe!

I bought a bunch of swatch sticks so that I could have an easy reference system for my polishes.

400 Swatch Sticks

400 Swatch Sticks

I started by getting all my polishes in 1 pile and over the weeks as a polish was swatched it would be packed away so that I didn’t swatch it again (Lets just say I did double swatch a few… Wasn’t impressed!)

Polish Chaos

Polish Chaos

I didn’t really have any pattern in my swatching process, I literally just pulled up random polishes and went for it.

Most of the swatch sticks are 2 coats except the glitters and the very translucent colours.

The Swatch Line

The Swatch Line

I did one coat on each let them dry and then started again. I had to leave them to dry overnight so they wouldn’t get damaged.

Colour Coding

Colour Coding

My all time favorite part of the whole project was colour coding the swatches. I only had 8 rings to work with so it was a challenge to sit and sort them. I am slightly OCD in the sense that everything has to be colour coded! Even my clothes & shoes are colour coded!

Glitter Swatches

Glitter Swatches

What I love is now I can see what colours I need… For example I dont have any Black or White Glitter polishes… Now I need those lol! And I have very little Chunky Glitter polishes.

Black, Grey & Silver Swatches

Black, Grey & Silver Swatches

Purple Swatches

Purple Swatches

Blue Swatches

Blue Swatches

Green, Yellow & Gold Swatches

Green, Yellow & Gold Swatches

Orange & Red Swatches

Orange & Red Swatches (Sorry its Blurry)

Pink Swatches

Pink Swatches

Pink & Nude Swatches

Pink & Nude Swatches

The project as a whole was really fun! I did it to help alleviate the clutter in my room, I now know what I have and where it is.

Someone asked me what is the purpose of the sticks if I dont do other peoples nails… Well it helps see what colours are similar and which colours compliment each other. It will help to decide what colours to use for nail art too.

Now each time I get a new polish (or polishes) I can swatch it and slot it in where it belongs.

How do you keep track of your polishes?

I have a spreadsheet on google docs (see here) but I also have a Nail polish app that catalogues polishes by brand and then colour (I’m still busy adding pics to it, see app here {This app is for Android phones}) & now the swatch sticks too.

Like I have said before, there is loads of admin linked to Nail art blogging, these tools just make it so much easier to manage it all!

I hope you enjoyed this and got a few tips & idea’s for your own collections!

All The Best

xxx

9 thoughts on “Swatch Stick Project *Pic Heavy

  1. I have swatchsticks too, but the clear ones. And I have them sitting in a container on my desk so I can see the pretty colours *grins*. I have a spreadsheet as well, but I’ll take a look at that app, sounds interesting!

Leave a Reply

